New Beginnings

IMG-20190621-WA0008
In the last school I worked in, this was a very appropriate outfit.

Today I began, without sounding too cheesy, the next stage in my life. As I’ve mentioned briefly before, I’m back in Dublin to complete a Professional Masters of Education to work as a Secondary School Teacher. And it all started today.

I’ve been up in Dublin now for two busy weeks, trying to get set up for the year ahead. It’s been a great two weeks, I’ve seen friends I’ve missed and gotten to reconnect with the city, but it’s been filled with anticipation for the year ahead. 

The thing is I’m pretty sure I can teach. I’ve worked with people of all ages and I seem to be pretty good at telling them what to do. I love working with people (and sometimes the sound of my own voice), and along with a whole host of benefits that come with being a teacher, I think this could be the job for me. 

Yet, I’m still pretty nervous about it all if I’m honest. I’ve never worked at an academic level with teenagers, and even though I have my experience from working in a school in Spain, teaching in Ireland will be completely different. I also have to deal with the fact my personal life will never be the same – from bumping into my students in the real world to the fact that they will almost certainly find this blog and perhaps laugh at me for it. 

I suppose at the root of it all is the fact that I don’t enjoy feeling out of my depth, (though does anyone?). It’s not that doing this course and starting this stage of life is going to be hugely difficult, it’s more that I hate letting people down. I like being the best and the fact that this is all about learning and not simply about succeeding straight away is a bit scary. 

But I made the decision to make this step, and I’ve got to do it right. Despite my concerns, I know I will figure it all out and probably look back on this as the best choice I’ve ever made. I hope so anyway. 

All this excitement means my blog might be a little quiet for the first while as I concentrate on settling into my placement and starting my classes. I’ve got some great ideas for articles about both Dublin and Madrid, as well as my return to rugby once more, and once I get a grip on life, I’ll be back. 

Wish me luck, I’ll need it!

Leave a comment